Header Bild

Language Courses for Erasmus Students

The Erasmus program of the European Union supports the international mobility in an educational framework. Many students, who wish to apply for an Erasmus grant at a foreign university (outgoings), have to proof proficiency in the language of their host university during the application process. Students who come to Austria via the mobility program (incomings), are supported in enhancing their German language skill.

The Language Center offers specially tailored courses for outgoing as well as for incoming students.

Erasmus Outgoing

Erasmus preparation courses address specifically students who plan to participate in semester- or year-long Erasmus exchange programs in foreign countries.
These courses include important information and advice for everyday life in the university environment, alongside academic, formal and social requirements and challenges which outgoing students can expect being confronted with.

However, Erasmus nomination is not a requirement for participation in these courses, which are also adequate as preparation for non-mobility program stays abroad.

­

Erasmus Incoming

Knowledge of the German language is a prerequisite for studying at the University of Vienna since most courses are held in German (with the exception of selected Master’s/PhD programs).
Hint: the International Office of your home university can provide information with regard to the language requirements of every field of study of the University of Vienna.

Before you start your lectures at the University you can prepare for your studies by attending an intensive September or February course; in addition, you can further enhance your German skills during the semester by participating in a trimester course.

Exchange students will be granted a discount of 20% on all trimester courses, February courses and summer courses, if they present a registration confirmation of the University of Vienna (which you receive from the International Office). There is no discount on semester courses.

The Language Center of the University of Vienna also offers courses in numerous other languages.

Header Bild

Kursangebote für Erasmus-Studierende

Das Erasmus-Programm der Europäischen Union fördert die internationale Mobilität im Bildungsbereich. Studierende an österreichischen Universitäten (Outgoings) müssen häufig Sprachkenntnisse des Ziellandes vorweisen, bevor sie sich für einen Erasmusplatz bewerben. Gleichermaßen werden Studierende ausländischer Universitäten (Incomings) dabei unterstützt, ihre Deutschkenntnisse weiter zu verbessern.

Das Sprachenzentrum bietet sowohl für Incomings als auch Outgoings ein maßgeschneidertes Kursprogramm an.

Erasmus Outgoing

Die Erasmus-Vorbereitungskurse richten sich speziell an Studierende, die ein Erasmus-Semester oder -Jahr in einem fremdsprachigen Land planen.
Die Kurse bieten wichtige Informationen und Hilfestellungen für den Alltag im universitären Umfeld und decken An- und Herausforderungen akademischer, formaler und sozialer Art ab, die Outgoing-Studierende erwarten.

Die Kursteilnahme ist jedoch nicht an eine Erasmus-Nominierung gebunden und eignet sich auch für die Vorbereitung für Auslandsaufenthalte außerhalb eines Mobilitätsprogramms.

­

Erasmus Incoming

Für das Studium an der Universität Wien sind entsprechende Deutschkenntnisse notwendig, da die meisten Lehrveranstaltungen (mit Ausnahme von ausgewählten Master/PhD-Studien) in deutscher Sprache abgehalten werden.
Hinweis: Das International Office der Heimatuniversität verfügt über Informationen, welche Sprachkenntnisse für die jeweilige Studienrichtung an der Universität Wien verlangt werden.

Incoming-Studierende können sich noch vor dem Semesterbeginn mit einem September- oder Februar-Intensivkurs sprachlich auf das Studium vorbereiten. Außerdem können sie während des Semesters ihre Deutschkenntnisse im Rahmen eines Trimesterkurses vertiefen.

Austauschstudierende erhalten gegen Vorlage der Registrierungsbestätigung der Universität Wien (bekommen Sie im International Office) 20% Ermäßigung auf alle Trimester-, Februar- und Sommerkurse. Auf Semesterkurse gibt es keine Ermäßigung.

Das Sprachenzentrum der Universität Wien bietet neben Deutsch Kurse in zahlreichen weiteren Sprachen an.